Claremont Institute awards prize to scholar-in-residence Colleen Sheehan

first_imgThe Claremont Institute has announced Dr. Colleen A. Sheehan as the 21st recipient of the prestigious Henry Salvatori Prize. The Henry Salvatori Prize in the American Founding was established at the Claremont Institute in 1997 by a gift from philanthropist and conservative leader Henry Salvatori. It is presented annually to an individual who has distinguished himself or herself by an understanding of, and actions taken to preserve and foster the principles upon which the United States was built.Sheehan is the 2019-20 CU Boulder Benson Center for the Study of Western Civilization’s Visiting Scholar in Conservative Thought & Policy.  Sheehan is professor of political science at Villanova University and director of the Matthew J. Ryan Center for Free Institutions and the Public Good. Sheehan has served in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, and was a Pennsylvania gubernatorial appointee to the Pennsylvania State Board of Education, and to the Governor’s Advisory Committee on Academic Standards. Past recipients of the Salvatori Prize include Michael Uhlmann, Thomas West, William B. Allen (Benson Center 2018-19 Visiting Scholar in Conservative Thought & Policy and 2019-20 Senior Scholar in Residence), Peter W. Schramm, John Eastman, John Marini, Mark Helprin, George Will, John Bolton, Harold Rood, Lawrence Kudlow, Mark Steyn, Angelo Codevilla, Brit Hume, Ed Meese, James Rogan, William F. Buckley, Jr. and Harry Jaffa. Sheehan received the prize at on November 16, 2019 at The Claremont Institute’s Alumni Retreat and Salvatori Dinner in Washington DC.  Click here to access her remarks, entitled Something to Say to the Sphinx, in the Claremont Institute’s online publication, The American Mind. Tags:newsarchive19-20 Share Share via TwitterShare via FacebookShare via LinkedInShare via E-maillast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *